Sustainability

Nature conservation and environmental protection are close to our hearts. As the main partner of Protect Our Winters Switzerland, we are committed to climate protection so that future generations can also enjoy snowy winters. 

Andermatt Responsible 

Andermatt Responsible is the campaign for climate-friendly and sustainable tourism in the Andermatt region. Our goal is to enable resource-conserving tourism operations. This is because we are convinced that it is in the interest of all of us to protect the Swiss mountains. You can find more information about our commitment on the Andermatt Responsible website.  

Reducing energy consumption

Running a ski resort is energy-intensive - we need water, electricity and fuel. In cooperation with the Act Cleantech Agency Switzerland, we have set target agreements and taken measures to reduce energy consumption and CO2 emissions. Participating sites have exceeded the target agreements made with Act every year since 2015. Act energy efficiency certificate

Use renewable energy

In addition to reducing energy consumption, the origin of the energy is also important to us. The electrical energy in the supply area of EW Ursern and Energia Alpina is obtained 100 percent from renewable sources. The companies operate hydroelectric power plants and wind turbines in the region. 

Consume locally and consciously

Mountain Food uses ingredients from the region whenever possible. Every mountain restaurant in the group therefore has Km Zero menus on offer. At the same time, there is a large selection of vegetarian dishes in the Mountain Food restaurants. Mountain Food also runs its own bakery and chocolaterie and works closely with suppliers and producers in the Ursern Valley. In this way, high-quality products are created under sustainable conditions for the region without the need for long journeys.   

Use public transport 

Andermatt, Sedrun and Disentis are easy to reach by train and the individual resorts are all connected thanks to the Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn. With our own Ski-Express, we bring guests from Switzerland's larger cities directly to the ski area in winter by coach. Learn more about the journey.

Green Pistenbully

Since the 2020/21 season, we have had the first hybrid snow groomer in operation. Compared to a conventional diesel vehicle, this reduces greenhouse gas emissions by 20 per cent and soot particle emissions by as much as 99 per cent. Further efforts are underway to successively modernise the vehicle fleet with such models.

Snowfarming

In spring, large snow depots are created and covered with fleece. Therefore, we can reuse a large part of the snow from this depot in autumn and prepare the piste. This saves us a lot of energy and costs for technical snowmaking.

Glacier coverage

We have been covering the Gurschen glacier with white fleece in spring for about two decades. This way we can slow down the melting of the glacier ice during the summer.

Clean-up Days

We organise Clean-up Days together with various partners and volunteers from all over Switzerland. This involves collecting rubbish in the area that has been left lying around during the season.

Intelligent snow making

Most of the snow-making equipment at the SkiArena was purchased when the ski area was expanded, and it meets current standards in terms of the efficiency and effectiveness of artificial snow making. Older snow-making equipment will be replaced in the coming years and the new ones integrated into the currently existing snow-making management. The SkiArena has introduced SnowSat, a system for measuring snow depth, which enables the SkiArena to offer guests perfect pistes while at the same time preserving the environment by producing only as much artificial snow as needed. All pistes have now been surveyed, and the retooling of the snow groomer fleet is well under way.

Jobs and training positions

The SkiArena employs 70 people in the summer season and about 200 in the winter season. Each year, the SkiArena offers an apprenticeship for youths studying gondola mechatronic engineering. Four apprentices are currently employed. In this way, the SkiArena is developing the next generation of operational staff and making its contribution to maintaining the Swiss cableways industry.

Value creation in the region

By creating and preserving jobs, and by working together with partners, service providers and suppliers in the area, the SkiArena is making a sustainable contribution to local value creation.

You can find our fact sheets on sustainability here.

We support the POW initiative, which moves the outdoor community to travel to the ski area in a sustainable way:

This content is delivered by a third-party provider that does not allow users to display the content without accepting targeting cookies. In order to access third-party content, please change your cookie settings for targeting cookies to "Active".
Edit cookie preferences Cookie Settings
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END

Nachhaltigkeit

Natur- und Umweltschutz liegen uns am Herzen. Als Hauptpartnerin von  Protect Our Winters Schweiz  setzen wir uns für den Klimaschutz ein, sodass sich auch zukünftige Generationen über schneereiche Winter freuen. 

Andermatt Responsible 

Andermatt Responsible ist die Kampagne für klimaverträglichen und nachhaltigen Tourismus in der Region Andermatt. Unser Ziel ist es, einen ressourcenschonenden Tourismusbetrieb zu ermöglichen. Dies, weil wir der Überzeugung sind, dass es im Interesse von uns allen ist, die Schweizer Bergwelt zu schützen. Weitere Infos über unser Engagement findest du auf der  Website von Andermatt Responsible .  

Energieverbrauch reduzieren

Der Betrieb eines Skigebietes ist energieintensiv – wir brauchen Wasser, Elektrizität und Treibstoffe. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Act Cleantech Agentur Schweiz haben wir Zielvereinbarungen festgelegt und Massnahmen ergriffen, um den Energieverbrauch und die CO2-Emissionen zu senken. Die teilnehmenden Standorte haben die Zielvereinbarungen, die seit 2015 mit Act getroffen wurden, jedes Jahr übertroffen.  Act Energieeffizienz-Zertifikat

Erneuerbare Energien verwenden 

Nebst der Reduktion des Energieverbrauchs ist uns auch die Herkunft der Energie wichtig. Die elektrische Energie im Versorgungsgebiet des EW Ursern und von Energia Alpina wird zu 100 Prozent aus erneuerbaren Quellen bezogen. Die Unternehmen betreiben Wasserkraftwerke und Windenergieanlagen in der Region. 

Lokal und bewusst konsumieren

Mountain Food verwendet wenn möglich Zutaten aus der Region. Jedes Bergrestaurant der Gruppe hat darum Km-Zero-Menüs im Angebot. Gleichzeitig gibt es in den Mountain Food Restaurants eine grosse Auswahl an vegetarischen Gerichten. Mountain Food betreibt ausserdem eine eigene Bäckerei, eine Chocolaterie und arbeitet eng mit den Lieferanten und Produzenten im Urserntal zusammen. So entstehen unter nachhaltigen Bedingungen für die Region hochwertige Produkte ohne Anfahrtswege.  

Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel nutzen 

Andermatt, Sedrun und Disentis sind mit dem Zug gut zu erreichen und die einzelnen Orte sind alle dank der Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn verbunden. Mit unserem eigenen Ski-Express bringen wir Gäste aus den grösseren Städten der Schweiz im Winter mit dem Reisecar direkt ins Skigebiet. Erfahre mehr über die Anreise .

Grüner Pistenbully

Seit der Saison 2020/21 haben wir den ersten Hybrid-Pistenbully in Betrieb. Damit verringern sich die Treibhausgasemissionen im Vergleich zu einem herkömmlichen Dieselfahrzeug um 20 Prozent, der Ausstoss an Russpartikeln sogar um 99 Prozent. Es laufen weitere Bestrebungen, den Fahrzeugpark sukzessive mit solchen Modellen zu modernisieren.

Snowfarming

Im Frühling werden jeweils grosse Schneedepots erstellt und mit Vlies abgedeckt. Deshalb können wir einen Grossteil an Schnee im Herbst aus diesem Depot wiederverwenden und die Piste präparieren. So sparen wir einiges an Energie und Kosten für die technische Beschneiung ein.

Gletscherabdeckung

Wir decken den Gurschengletscher seit rund zwei Jahrzente im Frühling mit weissem Vlies zu. So können wir das Abschmelzen vom Gletschereis während dem Sommer etwas bremsen.

Clean-up Days

Wir führen jeweils zusammen mit verschiedenen Partnern und Freiwilligen aus der ganzen Schweiz Clean-up Days durch. Dabei wird im Gelände des Gebiets Müll eingesammelt, der während der Saison liegen geblieben ist.

Intelligente Beschneiung

Ein Grossteil der Beschneiungsanlagen der SkiArena wurde mit dem Ausbau des Skigebietes realisiert und entspricht den heutigen Standards bezüglich Effizienz und Effektivität in der technischen Beschneiung. Ältere Beschneiungsanlagen werden in den kommenden Jahren ersetzt und die neuen Geräte werden in das bereits bestehende Beschneiungsmanagement eingefügt. Mit der Einführung des SnowSat Systems zur Schneehöhenmessung kann die SkiArena den Gästen perfekte Pisten anbieten und zugleich die Umwelt schonen, indem sie nur so viel Kunstschnee produziert, wie effektiv benötigt wird. Sämtliche Pisten wurden in der Zwischenzeit vermessen und die Umrüstung der Pistenfahrzeugflotte befindet sich in vollem Gange.

Arbeits- und Ausbildungsplätze

Die SkiArena beschäftigt in der Sommersaison 70 Mitarbeitende, in der Wintersaison rund 200. Die SkiArena bietet jährlich eine Lehrstelle an für Seilbahn-MechatronikerInnen, derzeit sind vier Lernende angestellt. Damit stellt die SkiArena den Nachwuchs für den Betrieb sicher und leistet ihren Beitrag zum Unterhalt der Schweizer Bergbahnbranche.

Wertschöpfung in der Region

Mit der Schaffung und dem Erhalt von Arbeitsstellen und der Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern, Dienstleistern und Lieferanten vor Ort leistet die SkiArena einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur lokalen Wertschöpfung.

Unsere Faktenblätter zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit findest du hier .

Wir unterstützen die Initiative POW, welche die Outdoor-Gemeinschaft bewegt, nachhaltig ins Skigebiet zu reisen: