St Michael’s Chapel

Description

St Michael’s Chapel is closely linked to the history of the cemeteries in Andermatt. The first cemetery was originally situated near the old valley church of St Columban and was consecrated around the year 1500. Later, the cemetery was moved to the site of the present-day parish church of St Peter and Paul, where it was re-established in 1630 and enclosed by a wall. Over time, the cemetery was expanded and adapted on several occasions, most recently in the 20th century. Its layout was also altered time and again: for instance, a niche for a crucifixion group was created in 1907. Today, a crucifix dating from 1904 stands there.

St Michael’s Chapel and the surrounding cemetery remain silent witnesses to the village’s history to this day, inviting visitors to pause for a moment and reflect on the place’s past.

EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END